Research study
Building an ADU in the coastal zone
One per cent of California, some of its most valuable land, and the one place where the ADU statute explicitly does not override the local process.
Written by HyreADU Research Desk Primary-source research and data analysis
Audited by HyreADU Research Desk Statutory citation and attribution audit
The finding
The ADU statute does not override the Coastal Act, and it says so in terms. Government Code section 66329(a): “Nothing in this article shall be construed to supersede or in any way alter or lessen the effect or application of the California Coastal Act of 1976.” Inside the coastal zone, an ADU can therefore require a coastal development permit on top of the ordinary building permit process.
Whether it does, and who issues it, turns on the Local Coastal Program. The Coastal Commission’s own guidance states that approximately 90 per cent of land in the coastal zone is covered by a certified LCP, and that around 90 per cent of coastal-zone permitting is done by local governments.
The twelve jurisdictions without a fully certified LCP are listed below. The process got materially lighter in 2025. AB 462 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 491) provides that a local coastal development permit for an ADU-only or JADU-only project is no longer appealable to the Commission, and cut the CDP action deadline from 90 days to 60.
The measured cost is time, not refusal, and the measurement is Terner Center’s. Terner reports average days from planning application to building permit, 2018–2022, of 260 inside the coastal zone against 147 outside in Los Angeles County, and 233 against 101 in Orange County, with no statistically significant difference in San Diego County.
Terner’s finding, not ours. Volumes are real but small, and the Commission denied none in its own jurisdiction over the year it reports.
This page will not tell you whether your lot needs a coastal development permit. That depends on the certified LCP, the appealable-area maps and facts about the parcel. It is a question for the local planning department and the Commission’s district office.
Read this first
- We cannot tell you whether your lot needs a coastal development permit
That answer depends on the certified LCP for your jurisdiction, on whether the parcel sits in an appealable area, on the Commission’s post-certification and permit jurisdiction maps and on the project itself.
It is a question for the local planning counter and the Coastal Commission’s district office, and where money is at stake, a land-use lawyer. Nothing here is legal advice.
- The delay figures are Terner Center’s, not ours
The 260-against-147 and 233-against-101 day figures are Terner’s measurement of the application-to-permit clock, published on their blog. We cite them, we do not restate them as HyreADU findings, and we did not reproduce their analysis. Our own duration work measures a different segment — permit to occupancy — in the construction duration study.
- We did not assemble LCP-by-LCP ADU treatment
The contract for this page envisaged a jurisdiction-level table of LCP certification status and ADU treatment. We could not build it: LCP text and certification status are published across many documents and municipal code hosts blocked automated retrieval throughout this program.
What we publish instead is the Commission’s own coverage statistic, its named list of uncertified jurisdictions and its named list of certified ADU amendments — all of which we could verify.
- The Commission’s statistics cover different windows
The 1,299 local approvals are “past 4 years” and the 60 waivers in the Commission’s own jurisdiction are “past year”, as published on the Commission’s one-pager.
They are not directly comparable to each other and should not be summed or ratioed. Where the source gives a window rather than dates, we reproduce the window as given.
Why the coastal zone is genuinely different
Almost every other page on this site rests on the same structural fact: California ADU law sets state standards, those standards supersede conflicting local ordinances, and the approval is ministerial where the statute says it is.
That is what makes the ADU an unusually predictable planning object in a state where very little else about land use is predictable.
The coastal zone is the exception the statute itself writes in. Government Code section 66329(a) provides that “[n]othing in this article shall be construed to supersede or in any way alter or lessen the effect or application of the California Coastal Act of 1976,” and cross-references the Coastal Act at Division 20 of the Public Resources Code. The ADU chapter does not displace the Coastal Act; it sits alongside it.
The practical consequence is a second permit. Where the Coastal Act requires a coastal development permit for development, an ADU is development.
Whether the CDP is issued by the local jurisdiction or by the Coastal Commission depends on whether the jurisdiction has a certified Local Coastal Program covering the area — and, where it does, whether the site sits in an area where a local decision remains appealable to the Commission.
HyreADU analysis: this is why coastal ADU guidance is so much worse than ordinary ADU guidance.
The standard article structure — state law says X, so your city must allow X — does not survive contact with the coastal zone, because the answer is genuinely jurisdiction-specific in a way the rest of ADU law has deliberately stopped being.
The zone covers, in the Commission’s words, “the 1% of California closest to the shoreline”, and it contains a disproportionate share of the state’s most valuable residential land.
The five terms you need before reading anything else
Coastal process discussion is impenetrable without these, and most ADU guidance uses them loosely. Definitions here follow the Coastal Commission’s own usage in its July 2026 ADU guidance.
- Coastal zone
- The area subject to the California Coastal Act, described by the Commission as “the 1% of California closest to the shoreline”. Its landward boundary varies considerably and is mapped rather than defined by a uniform distance.
- Local Coastal Program (LCP)
- A local jurisdiction’s land use plan and implementing ordinances for its portion of the coastal zone, certified by the Coastal Commission. Once certified, the jurisdiction issues most coastal development permits itself. Approximately 90 per cent of coastal-zone land is covered by a certified LCP.
- Coastal development permit (CDP)
- The permit required for development in the coastal zone. It is separate from, and additional to, the building permit. Where an LCP is certified, the local government generally issues it; in the Commission’s retained jurisdiction, the Commission does.
- LCP amendment
- The mechanism by which a jurisdiction updates its certified LCP — for example, to bring its ADU standards into line with state law. The Commission’s guidance identifies three routes: minor (Pub. Res. Code § 30514(c), 14 CCR § 13554), de minimis (§ 30514(d)), and major (§ 30514(b)), the last limited to three submittals per calendar year with a one-year extension available under § 30517.
- Categorical Exclusion Order
- An order excluding a defined category of development from the CDP requirement in a defined area. Named in the Commission’s guidance as one of the tools available for ADUs, alongside the amendment routes.
The Commission’s guidance also names the housing-relevant Coastal Act sections as Public Resources Code §§ 30007, 30604(f), 30250 and 30500.1. Those are the provisions through which housing considerations enter coastal decision-making, and they are worth knowing exist before reading any staff report.
The twelve jurisdictions without a fully certified LCP
Named by the Coastal Commission in its July 2026 ADU guidance. In these jurisdictions the coastal permitting arrangement is not the ordinary certified-LCP one, and the practical route differs — which is a reason to ask early rather than assume.
| Jurisdiction | Region | Why it matters for an ADU |
|---|---|---|
| Fortuna | North Coast | Coastal permitting arrangements differ from the certified-LCP norm; confirm the route with the jurisdiction and the Commission’s district office before designing. |
| City of Monterey | Central Coast | As above. |
| Goleta | Central Coast | As above. |
| City of Los Angeles | South Coast | The largest jurisdiction on the list, and the one with by far the highest ADU volume — the City reported 7,439 ADU permit units to HCD in 2025 citywide, though only a small share of the city sits in the coastal zone. |
| Hermosa Beach | South Coast | As above. |
| Santa Monica | South Coast | As above. |
| Torrance | South Coast | As above. |
| Seal Beach | Orange County | As above. |
| Costa Mesa | Orange County | As above. |
| Aliso Viejo | Orange County | As above. |
| San Clemente | Orange County | As above. |
| Solana Beach | San Diego County | As above. |
Jurisdictions named by the California Coastal Commission as lacking a fully certified Local Coastal Program, from its “Guidance on Processing Local Coastal Program Amendments for Accessory Dwelling Units in the Coastal Zone”, 1 July 2026, retrieved 2026-09-05. Regional groupings are ours, for readability.
HyreADU note on how to read this list. Being on it does not mean an ADU is harder to build, and being off it does not mean the state ADU standards apply unmodified.
It means the permitting route is different, and that a homeowner or designer should establish who issues the coastal development permit before spending money on drawings.
That is a question the planning counter can answer in one phone call and that no article can answer for you.
What coastal ADU permitting actually looks like
Published by the Coastal Commission on its ADU one-pager. Note the differing windows: the first two figures cover the past four years, the last three the past year in the Commission’s own retained jurisdiction.
The Commission also reports that 2 of those applications went to its Consent Calendar and 4 were permitted after resolving sea level rise, water quality and public access issues.
HyreADU analysis: a zero-denial year in the Commission’s own jurisdiction is a genuinely important data point, because the dominant public perception of coastal ADU permitting is refusal.
On this evidence the coastal cost is measured in time and process, not in outright denial — which is also what the Terner duration finding below suggests.
The measured cost: time, not refusal
The coastal-zone delay figure is Terner Center’s measurement and is cited as theirs. The measure is the average number of days from planning application to building permit for ADUs, 2018–2022, inside and outside the coastal zone in three Southern California counties.
| County | Inside the coastal zone | Outside | Difference | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles County | 260 days | 147 days | +113 days | Terner Center, “ADUs in the Coastal Zone” |
| Orange County | 233 days | 101 days | +132 days | Terner Center, same analysis |
| San Diego County | — | — | No statistically significant difference reported | Terner Center, same analysis |
Terner Center findings on ADU application-to-permit duration inside and outside the coastal zone, retrieved 2026-09-05.
Two cautions on reading this. First, it measures the application-to-permit clock. Our own duration study measures the permit-to-occupancy clock, where the statewide Los Angeles median is 499 days.
Those are consecutive segments of one pipeline, not competing estimates of the same quantity, and they should be added rather than compared.
Second, San Diego County’s null result is a real finding and is reported as such — a county-level coastal process that adds no measurable delay is exactly as informative as one that adds four months.
What changed, and when
Coastal ADU process has moved substantially in the last two years, in the direction of less friction. Each entry is sourced to the Commission’s guidance or the chaptered bill record.
-
2017–2022
Four Coastal Commission ADU memorandaThe Commission issued ADU guidance memos on 18 April 2017, 20 November 2017, 21 April 2020 and 21 January 2022, tracking the successive changes to state ADU law. The existence of four memos in five years is itself a fair description of how unsettled this area has been.
-
2024
SB 1077 requires formal guidanceSB 1077 (Stats. 2024, Ch. 454) required the Commission to produce guidance on processing Local Coastal Program amendments for ADUs — moving the subject from a series of memoranda to a single mandated document.
-
10 October 2025
AB 462 removes Commission appeal for ADU-only CDPsAB 462 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 491) provides that a local coastal development permit for an ADU-only or JADU-only project is no longer appealable to the Commission, and cuts the CDP action deadline from 90 days to 60. This is the single largest reduction in coastal ADU process risk in the period covered by this page.
-
1 July 2026
The Commission publishes the SB 1077 guidance“Guidance on Processing Local Coastal Program Amendments for Accessory Dwelling Units in the Coastal Zone.” It supplies the 90 per cent LCP coverage figure, the named list of twelve uncertified jurisdictions, the three amendment routes with their Public Resources Code citations, and the record of certified ADU LCP amendments to date.
Which coastal jurisdictions have actually certified ADU LCP amendments
From the Commission’s own guidance. Six named jurisdictions, across all three amendment routes, over roughly three and a half years — a useful indication of both the pace and the fact that all three routes are genuinely available.
| Jurisdiction | Amendment route | Certified |
|---|---|---|
| County of Santa Cruz | Minor (Pub. Res. Code § 30514(c); 14 CCR § 13554) | March 2022 |
| County of Santa Barbara | De minimis (Pub. Res. Code § 30514(d)) | February 2024 |
| City of Carlsbad | Major (Pub. Res. Code § 30514(b)) | February 2025 |
| City of Del Mar | Major (Pub. Res. Code § 30514(b)) | March 2025 |
| City of Santa Cruz | De minimis (Pub. Res. Code § 30514(d)) | September 2025 |
| County of Monterey | Route not specified in the guidance | October 2025 |
ADU-related Local Coastal Program amendments certified by the California Coastal Commission, as listed in its 1 July 2026 guidance, retrieved 2026-09-05. Where the guidance does not state the route, we leave the cell unspecified rather than inferring it.
HyreADU note. Major amendments are capped at three submittals per calendar year per jurisdiction under Public Resources Code § 30514(b), with a one-year extension available under § 30517.
That cap is a real scheduling constraint for a jurisdiction with several pending LCP changes, and it is one reason the minor and de minimis routes matter: an ADU amendment that can go through § 30514(c) or (d) does not consume one of the three annual major slots.
What we could not verify
We could not build a jurisdiction-by-jurisdiction table of LCP certification status joined to ADU treatment. The Commission publishes the coverage percentage and the uncertified list, which we reproduce; the per-jurisdiction ADU standards live in LCP documents and municipal codes we could not retrieve at scale.
The Commission’s published volume statistics are given as “past 4 years” and “past year” without explicit start and end dates. We reproduce the windows as published rather than assigning dates the source does not state.
We did not verify the current appealable-area maps for any jurisdiction, and nothing on this page should be used to conclude that a particular site is or is not in an appealable area.
The Terner Center duration analysis is theirs; we did not obtain their underlying data and could not reproduce the estimates or their significance tests. The San Diego null result is reported exactly as Terner reports it.
Questions
Do I need a coastal development permit to build an ADU?
Does state ADU law override the Coastal Act?
Can the Coastal Commission still appeal my city’s decision on an ADU?
How much longer does a coastal ADU take?
Does the Coastal Commission reject ADUs?
Which coastal cities do not have a certified LCP?
How does a city update its LCP for ADUs?
Is the coastal zone the same as beachfront property?
Written and audited by
HyreADU Research Desk
Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking
We are a research desk, not a builder. We read the permit extract, the statute, the HCD return or the fee schedule ourselves, and publish each figure with its source and retrieval date.
Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we leave it out and say what we could not verify. Our store-based claims cover California only.
- CA
- the only state this desk will make store-based claims about
- 5
- jurisdictions with extracted ADU permit evidence
- 735
- CSLB-verified companies in the California store
- 0
- national claims from a one-state store
How this desk works
- Primary sources only. Permit counts come from the city or county that issued the permit. Production counts come from HCD’s Annual Progress Report. Rents come from HUD or the Census. We do not cite an article that cites a source; we download the source and compute the figure ourselves.
- This is a California site. The company store is 734 California firms and one New Mexico firm. Permit evidence exists for five named jurisdictions: Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, San José and unincorporated Marin. A number from that store is titled to those places, never to the United States.
- A permit is not a completion, and a license is not an ADU grade. California licenses no ADU classification. Being named on an ADU permit is evidence of engagement in that jurisdiction, not of quality, completion, or work anywhere else. Owner-builder permits are excluded from contractor counts.
- Calculation is labeled as calculation. Figures we derive are never presented as something HCD, HUD, the Census or a city published. Terner Center research is cited as Terner’s, never restated as ours.
- We do not design, permit or build ADUs, and we take no payment for placement, ranking or a favorable mention. Pages that look like rankings are not: they publish public-record counts and let the reader decide.
- Nothing here is legal, tax or financial advice. Zoning, underwriting and appraisal practice vary by jurisdiction, lender and appraiser. The useful next step on a specific lot is the planning counter and a licensed professional.
Data as of California Coastal Commission SB 1077 guidance (1 July 2026) and ADU one-pager retrieved 2026-09-05; Government Code Chapter 13 retrieved from leginfo 2026-09-05; Terner Center coastal-zone analysis retrieved 2026-09-05. Authorship on this site is organizational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold.
Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.
Sources & retrieval dates
- California Coastal Commission, “Guidance on Processing Local Coastal Program Amendments for Accessory Dwelling Units in the Coastal Zone” , Dated 1 July 2026, required by SB 1077 (Stats. 2024, Ch. 454). Source of the statement that “Approximately 90% of land in the coastal zone is covered by a certified LCP”, the named list of twelve jurisdictions without a fully certified LCP, the three amendment routes with their Public Resources Code citations, the § 30514(b) three-submittal cap and § 30517 extension, the Categorical Exclusion Order option, the housing-relevant Coastal Act sections (PRC §§ 30007, 30604(f), 30250, 30500.1), the record of the four prior Commission ADU memoranda of 2017, 2017, 2020 and 2022, the certified ADU LCP amendment list, and the description of AB 462’s effect. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- California Coastal Commission, “Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs) in the Coastal Zone” one-pager , Source of the coastal ADU volume statistics: over the past four years, 912 coastal development permits for new ADUs and 387 permits for single-family homes including at least one ADU or JADU, 1,299 in total; and over the past year in the Commission’s own jurisdiction, 60 ADUs and JADUs approved by administrative waiver, 23 average days from completed file to waiver, 2 on the Consent Calendar, 4 permitted after resolving sea level rise, water quality and public access issues, and none denied. Also the source of the descriptions of the coastal zone as “the 1% of California closest to the shoreline” and of the 90/10 split between local and Commission permitting. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- California Government Code § 66329 — Coastal Act savings clause , Verbatim: “Nothing in this article shall be construed to supersede or in any way alter or lessen the effect or application of the California Coastal Act of 1976 (Division 20 (commencing with Section 30000) of the Public Resources Code).” The section also carries the 60-day coastal development permit deadline and the no-public-hearing carve-outs. Part of Chapter 13, created by SB 477 (Stats. 2024, Ch. 7). Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Terner Center for Housing Innovation, UC Berkeley, “ADUs in the Coastal Zone” , Terner’s own analysis of average days from planning application to building permit for ADUs, 2018–2022, inside and outside the coastal zone: Los Angeles County 260 against 147; Orange County 233 against 101; San Diego County no statistically significant difference. Cited throughout as Terner’s finding. We did not obtain the underlying data and did not reproduce the estimates. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- California Department of Housing and Community Development, Housing Element Annual Progress Report — Table A2 , Full Table A2 extract, HCD file last updated 4 September 2026, deduplicated by tracking identifier. Source of the City of Los Angeles citywide figure of 7,439 ADU permit units in 2025 referenced in the uncertified-jurisdiction table. Statewide, 32,126 ADU permit units in 2025. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
In the coastal zone, establish the permitting route before you draw anything
Who issues the coastal development permit, and whether the site sits in an appealable area, changes the program and the budget. It is a question the planning counter and the Commission’s district office can answer; no article can.
HyreADU does not design, permit or build accessory dwelling units, and does not practice law. This page is informational and is not legal advice.
It describes California statutory text, California Coastal Commission published guidance and published Commission statistics as retrieved on 5 September 2026; it does not tell you whether a coastal development permit is required on any particular parcel, who would issue it, or whether a site sits in an appealable area.
The duration findings are the Terner Center’s and are cited as theirs, not restated as HyreADU research. Coastal Commission volume statistics are reproduced with the reporting windows the Commission publishes.