Research study
California permits thousands of ADUs. How many get built?
Permits are not production. A reconstruction of HCD’s Housing Element Annual Progress Report, Table A2, 2018–2025.
Written by HyreADU Research Desk Primary-source research and data analysis
The finding
California jurisdictions reported 178,495 accessory-dwelling-unit building-permit units dated 2018–2025 in the Housing Element Annual Progress Report, Table A2, and 102,356 certificates of occupancy (or other forms of readiness) in the same window — a cumulative ratio of 57.3%.
Drop the four jurisdictions whose completion fields are unusable and the figures are 177,426 and 102,352 (57.7%). That ratio is not a project completion rate. Completions in a calendar year are mostly units permitted in earlier years.
Permits in a calendar year include units that will complete later, stall, or never reappear under the same identifier. Among 81,853 matched projects the median permit-to-certificate lag is 1 year: 29.4% finish in the same calendar year, 78.9% within one year, 93.9% within two.
The 2018 cohort’s observed match rate is 47.1% after seven years of follow-up. Unmatched is not “unbuilt.” A naive sum by APR reporting year double-counts 35,237 permit units (16.5% of 213,732). We count unique permit events by the date on the permit.
ADUs rose from 9.1% of HCD-reported permits in 2018 to 26.5% in 2024 and 26.1% in 2025. Table A2 has no JADU category. The 2025 APR was retrieved 2026-09-05, after HCD’s 30 June completeness date, and is still labeled 2025.
This is not a city ranking. A completion ratio is not quality. Huntington Beach, Saratoga, West Sacramento and Arvin are named as unusable reporters and are never counted as zero production.
Read this first
The headline ratio is easy to misuse. These five constraints sit above the tables because they change what every number on this page is allowed to mean.
- A calendar-year ratio is not a project completion rate
Dividing 102,356 certificates dated 2018–2025 by 178,495 permits dated 2018–2025 answers a production-accounting question: how many finished units were recorded in the same window as how many permitted units.
It does not answer “what share of permitted projects get built.” Completions in 2025 include 2019–2024 permits; 2025 permits include units that will not receive a certificate until 2026 or later.
The same-year ratio (70.4% in 2025, 26.4% in 2018) is a lag indicator, not a yield.
- The identifier join is not an HCD unique ID
Table A2 does not issue a project identifier that survives across reporting years.
We join on the jurisdiction’s tracking ID when the cell is filled, and on assessor’s parcel number plus street address when it is not. 15,082 ADU rows (5.4%) have an empty tracking ID. A parcel that changes address text, a tracking ID that is reused, or a certificate filed under a different ID than the permit, falls out of the match.
That is a join failure, not a finding that the unit was never built.
- Unmatched includes still-building, abandoned, unreported certificates, and ID change
Still under construction; abandoned; completed without a reported certificate; identifier changed between the permit row and the completion row. The 2018 cohort’s 47.1% observed match after seven years is a lower bound on physical completion, not a census of what stands. We will not translate the residual into an abandonment rate.
- The 2025 APR is after HCD’s 30 June completeness date, and is still labeled 2025
2025 APRs were due 1 April 2026. HCD states prior-year data are not complete until 30 June. This extract was retrieved 5 September 2026, after that date, and 2025 has slightly more Table A2 rows than 2024. A reader in 2027 should not treat the 2025 row as closed in the way 2019 is closed.
- Junior ADUs are not separable
Table A2 has no separate JADU unit category. Junior accessory dwelling units are in this file only if the jurisdiction coded them as UNIT_CAT=ADU. Any JADU share inside these totals is whatever local clerks coded as ADU. We cannot back it out.
What is being counted
Almost every published ADU “production” figure in California is a permit count. Table A2 carries both permits and certificates. This page keeps the two columns, and the two clocks, apart.
- Permit unit (event-year)
- NO_BUILDING_PERMITS on a unique (jurisdiction, project identifier, BP_ISSUE_DT1) event, assigned to the calendar year of the building-permit date — not the year the APR was filed. 169,249 unique permit events produced 178,495 units in 2018–2025. Multi-unit events are why those two numbers differ.
- Completion unit (event-year)
- NO_OTHER_FORMS_OF_READINESS on a unique (jurisdiction, project identifier, CO_ISSUE_DT1) event, assigned to the calendar year of the certificate (or other form of readiness) date. 98,500 unique completion events produced 102,356 units. HCD’s column is broader than a certificate of occupancy; we keep HCD’s label and do not pretend every row is a CO.
- Same-year ratio
- Completions dated in calendar year t divided by permits dated in calendar year t. A mix of new permits that finished fast and older permits whose certificates landed this year. It will exceed 100 percent in a year when a pipeline is draining. It is not a yield.
- Cumulative ratio
- Running completions divided by running permits inside 2018–2025. Ends at 57.3%. Still a window ratio, still not a project completion rate. The right-hand tail of 2024–2025 permits has not had time to complete.
- Cohort match
- A unique (jurisdiction, identifier) pair whose earliest permit date and earliest certificate date can be joined. 81,853 matched projects, unusable reporters excluded. Identifier matching is not a unique project ID issued by HCD; it is the best join the file supports.
- Unusable reporter
- A jurisdiction whose ADU completion fields cannot be read as production. Rule U1: at least 40 ADU permits across at least three years and zero ADU completions. Rule U2: at least 100 ADU permits across at least five years, completions in at most one year, cumulative ratio under 5 percent. Four jurisdictions meet a rule: Huntington Beach, Saratoga, West Sacramento, Arvin. They are named, excluded from ratios that would treat blank certificates as zeros, and never described as having built nothing.
What 57.3 percent is, and what it refuses to be
The political story of California ADUs is a permit story. State law stripped parking minimums, setback traps and owner-occupancy rules; cities started issuing building permits in volume; the permit count became the measure of the reform.
Table A2 is the file that can test the next sentence — the one that treats those permits as housing. It can, if the two columns are not collapsed.
Over 2018–2025 the event-year series records 178,495 permitted ADU units and 102,356 completed ADU units. The cumulative ratio is 57.3%. Exclude the four unusable reporters and it is 57.7% on 177,426 permits and 102,352 completions.
The exclusion moves the statewide number by four tenths of a point. It is in the method because counting Huntington Beach’s 495 permits as 0 completions would be a claim about production that the city’s own APR cannot support.
The same-year ratio — this year’s certificates over this year’s permits — rose from 26.4% in 2018 (12,050 permits, 3,186 completions) to 65.5% in 2024 and 70.4% in 2025 (32,126 permits, 22,630 completions).
That climb is what a maturing pipeline looks like: early years are almost all new permits and almost no certificates; later years inherit certificates from the bulge. 2020’s 61.5% same-year ratio sits on a nearly flat permit year (12,992 then 13,116) while completions rose from 5,957 to 8,065 — catch-up in the certificate column, not a jump in new permits. 2021’s dip to 47.9% is the same arithmetic in reverse: permits jumped from 13,116 to 21,163 while completions rose only from 8,065 to 10,147.
HyreADU analysis: the honest sentence is that California is permitting ADUs faster than it is recording them as ready, that the gap has narrowed as a share of the annual flow, and that the remaining gap is a mixture of construction lag, abandonment, certificate non-reporting and identifier change — in unknown proportions.
A page that picked one of those four and called it “the” completion rate would be the thing this study exists not to publish.
The window, in four numbers
Statewide ADU permits and completions, by document date
Each row is the calendar year on the building permit or the certificate, after de-duplicating re-reported events. The cumulative ratio is running completions over running permits inside this window.
| Year | Permit units | Completion units | Same-year ratio | Cumulative permits | Cumulative completions | Cumulative ratio |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 12,050 | 3,186 | 26.4% | 12,050 | 3,186 | 26.4% |
| 2019 | 12,992 | 5,957 | 45.9% | 25,042 | 9,143 | 36.5% |
| 2020 | 13,116 | 8,065 | 61.5% | 38,158 | 17,208 | 45.1% |
| 2021 | 21,163 | 10,147 | 47.9% | 59,321 | 27,355 | 46.1% |
| 2022 | 26,224 | 14,043 | 53.6% | 85,545 | 41,398 | 48.4% |
| 2023 | 29,309 | 17,676 | 60.3% | 114,854 | 59,074 | 51.4% |
| 2024 | 31,515 | 20,652 | 65.5% | 146,369 | 79,726 | 54.5% |
| 2025 | 32,126 | 22,630 | 70.4% | 178,495 | 102,356 | 57.3% |
California ADU units in HCD Table A2, assigned to the calendar year of BP_ISSUE_DT1 (permits) or CO_ISSUE_DT1 (completions). Retrieved 2026-09-05. 922,102 Table A2 rows; 281,321 with UNIT_CAT=ADU.
Same-year ratio is completions dated t divided by permits dated t. It is not the share of year-t permits that ever complete. Excluding unusable reporters, 2025 is 31,910 permits and 22,630 completions (70.9%).
The same-year ratio is a lag clock
If every permitted ADU finished in the year it was permitted, the same-year ratio would sit near 100 percent and the cumulative ratio would too. Neither does. The same-year series starts at 26.4% and ends at 70.4%. The bars below are that series, with the two counts that produce it.
The median lag among matched projects is 1 year (25th percentile 0, 75th percentile 1).
That is why a 2025 same-year ratio of 70.4% can coexist with a cumulative ratio of 57.3%: most certificates in 2025 belong to 2023–2024 permits, and most 2025 permits have not yet reached a certificate.
Treating 70.4% as “70 percent of 2025 ADUs got built” would reverse the clock.
The APR-year total double-counts the same permit
Jurisdictions re-file open projects in later Annual Progress Reports. Summing NO_BUILDING_PERMITS by the year the APR was filed therefore counts the same physical permit every year it is still open.
Over 2018–2025 that naive sum is 213,732 permit units against 178,495 unique event-year units — 35,237 double-counted units, 16.5% of the naive total.
Completions double-count too, more mildly: 108,252 naive against 102,356 event-year, which is why the naive cumulative ratio (50.6%) looks worse than the event-year ratio.
It is worse because the denominator is inflated more than the numerator.
2018 is the year that shows the mechanism. The 2018 APR-year permit sum is 9,000; the event-year sum, using the date on the permit, is 12,050 — 3,050 higher.
Later APRs back-filled 2018-dated permits that the 2018 filing had not yet recorded.
From 2019 onward the APR-year sum runs ahead of the event-year sum, by 9,721 units in 2025 (41,847 naive against 32,126 event-year).
A dashboard that charts “ADU permits by APR year” is, from 2019 on, a chart of re-reporting as well as of new permits.
HyreADU analysis: the double-count is large enough to change a headline and small enough to hide in a downloaded CSV that looks official. 16.5% of the naive permit total is not a rounding error.
It is why this page never sums by APR_YEAR, and why a contemporaneous snapshot (Terner’s 2020 paper, below) will not match an event-year reconstruction of the same statute years from a later extract.
Event-year counts versus a naive APR-year sum
| Year | Event-year permits | APR-year permits (naive) | Naive minus event-year | Event-year completions | APR-year completions (naive) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 12,050 | 9,000 | −3,050 | 3,186 | 3,199 |
| 2019 | 12,992 | 15,064 | 2,072 | 5,957 | 6,260 |
| 2020 | 13,116 | 16,024 | 2,908 | 8,065 | 8,344 |
| 2021 | 21,163 | 24,625 | 3,462 | 10,147 | 10,796 |
| 2022 | 26,224 | 31,813 | 5,589 | 14,043 | 15,004 |
| 2023 | 29,309 | 35,723 | 6,414 | 17,676 | 18,545 |
| 2024 | 31,515 | 39,636 | 8,121 | 20,652 | 21,750 |
| 2025 | 32,126 | 41,847 | 9,721 | 22,630 | 24,354 |
“Naive minus event-year” is the APR-year permit sum minus the unique-event permit sum. Negative in 2018 (later filings back-dated permits). Positive thereafter (the same permit re-filed). The positives net of the 2018 backfill equal 35,237 double-counted permit units.
A reporter reproducing this table should group by the year of BP_ISSUE_DT1 / CO_ISSUE_DT1 after de-duplicating on (jurisdiction, identifier, that date), not by the APR_YEAR column.
HCD permits against Census BPS, California, 2018–2025
| Year | HCD all permits | HCD ADU permits | ADU share of HCD | HCD SFD permits | Census BPS total | HCD minus BPS | HCD / BPS | BPS 1-unit | HCD SFD+ADU minus BPS 1-unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 131,279 | 11,978 | 9.1% | 45,928 | 113,502 | 17,777 | 1.16× | 58,831 | −925 |
| 2019 | 124,730 | 12,865 | 10.3% | 43,452 | 110,197 | 14,533 | 1.13× | 58,575 | −2,258 |
| 2020 | 115,356 | 12,947 | 11.2% | 40,862 | 106,075 | 9,281 | 1.09× | 59,043 | −5,234 |
| 2021 | 137,202 | 20,843 | 15.2% | 50,983 | 119,436 | 17,766 | 1.15× | 65,890 | 5,936 |
| 2022 | 139,691 | 25,826 | 18.5% | 39,914 | 120,780 | 18,911 | 1.16× | 63,628 | 2,112 |
| 2023 | 137,292 | 28,906 | 21.1% | 39,480 | 111,760 | 25,532 | 1.23× | 58,534 | 9,852 |
| 2024 | 116,930 | 31,006 | 26.5% | 34,979 | 101,545 | 15,385 | 1.15× | 61,143 | 4,842 |
| 2025 | 120,455 | 31,460 | 26.1% | 35,424 | 103,856 | 16,599 | 1.16× | 57,739 | 9,145 |
U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, Annual History by State and Territory, annual 2025 release (14 May 2026). California column, units (not buildings).
HCD columns in this table are the APR comparison series used for the share-of-permits calculation; they are not the event-year production series in the table above, and the two ADU counts should not be mixed in one sentence.
BPS has no ADU category. Detached ADUs may be counted as 1-unit new residential construction; garage conversions and many internal ADUs may not be counted as new units at all. This is a cross-check of statewide housing-permit levels, not a validation of the ADU count.
Once a permit can be joined to a certificate, the lag is short
A project is a unique (jurisdiction, identifier) pair. The permit year is the earliest building-permit date; the completion year is the earliest certificate-of-occupancy (or other form of readiness) date.
Unusable reporters are excluded from the cohort so their blank completion fields are not treated as unfinished projects. Identifier matching is not a unique project ID issued by HCD; it is the best join the file supports.
Among 81,853 matched projects the lag distribution is tight. 24,077 (29.4%) receive a certificate in the same calendar year as the permit.
Another 40,486 complete the next year, which is why 78.9% are done within one year and 93.9% within two (12,264 more at t+2). 4,974 take three or more years.
The median is 1 year; the 25th percentile is 0; the 75th percentile is 1. 52 projects show a certificate dated before the permit (a legalization, a data error, or both).
They are 0.1% of matches — visible, and too few to move a median.
That is a different picture from the 57.3% window ratio, and it is supposed to be. The lag table is conditioned on a successful join.
Projects that never match — still under construction, abandoned, completed without a reported certificate, or filed under a changed identifier — are not in it. Conditional on appearing in both columns, California ADUs are not decade-long jobs. They are mostly one-year-to-the-next jobs.
The production gap lives in the unmatched residual, not in a long tail of matched construction.
Permit-to-certificate lag among matched projects
| Lag (completion year minus permit year) | Matched projects | Share of matches |
|---|---|---|
| Negative (certificate dated first) | 52 | 0.1% |
| 0 (same calendar year) | 24,077 | 29.4% |
| +1 year | 40,486 | 49.5% |
| +2 years | 12,264 | 15.0% |
| +3 or more | 4,974 | 6.1% |
| All matched | 81,853 | 100% |
Lag in whole calendar years among 81,853 matched (jurisdiction, identifier) pairs. Unusable reporters excluded. Median 1 year; within one year 78.9%; within two years 93.9%.
Shares in the named “same year / within 1 / within 2” fields are computed on this matched set. They are not the share of all permitted units that complete on that clock.
The 2018 cohort is not a census of what got built
Follow a permit year forward and the observed match rate is the share of that year’s permitted units whose identifier later appears on a certificate in Table A2.
For the 2018 cohort that rate is 47.1% after 7 years of follow-up: 5,687 matched units out of 12,074, leaving 6,387 unmatched. Same-year observed completion for that cohort is only 9.9%; by t+2 it is 40.0%.
Rates are observed matches in Table A2, not a physical completion census. Unmatched units include projects still under construction, abandoned projects, and completed units whose certificate was not reported or whose identifier changed.
Later cohorts, with less follow-up, already show higher two-year observed matches than 2018 ever did. The 2022 cohort is at 62.4% after 3 years, and 57.3% by t+2. The 2023 cohort is at 57.8% by t+2.
If unmatched were simply “not yet finished,” the oldest cohort would be the most complete. It is not. 2018 is the lowest observed rate in the table despite the longest follow-up.
That is the opposite of a pure lag story, and it is why this page will not call 47.1% an abandonment rate. Identifier quality, reporting practice and legalization coding are in the residual alongside units that never rose.
Restrict the unmatched question to cohorts that have had at least two years to complete and the residual is still large: 46,944 unmatched units out of 114,651 permitted in 2018–2023 (40.9%).
The 2024 and 2025 cohorts are too young to belong in that sentence — 2025 has 0 years of follow-up and an observed match of 16.1%, which is almost entirely the same-year slice.
Reading that row as “16.1% of 2025 ADUs got built” would be a category error.
HyreADU analysis: the matched-lag table and the cohort-match table are doing different jobs. The first says: when both ends of the pipe are visible, the typical ADU is a one-year project.
The second says: a large minority of permitted units never become visible at the far end of this file, even after years, and we cannot see which of the four reasons applies.
Anyone using Table A2 as a construction census is asking a project-level question of a reporting file that was built for housing-element accounting.
Observed match rate by permit-year cohort
| Permit year | Follow-up years | Permit units | Matched units | Observed match rate | Same year | By t+1 | By t+2 | Unmatched units |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 7 | 12,074 | 5,687 | 47.1% | 9.9% | 31.8% | 40.0% | 6,387 |
| 2019 | 6 | 13,105 | 8,036 | 61.3% | 14.6% | 42.7% | 53.2% | 5,069 |
| 2020 | 5 | 13,075 | 8,138 | 62.2% | 15.9% | 45.8% | 55.7% | 4,937 |
| 2021 | 4 | 21,184 | 12,731 | 60.1% | 15.3% | 41.6% | 53.5% | 8,453 |
| 2022 | 3 | 26,270 | 16,393 | 62.4% | 15.4% | 44.7% | 57.3% | 9,877 |
| 2023 | 2 | 28,943 | 16,722 | 57.8% | 13.9% | 45.0% | 57.8% | 12,221 |
| 2024 | 1 | 31,093 | 14,498 | 46.6% | 14.2% | 46.5% | 46.6% | 16,595 |
| 2025 | 0 | 31,614 | 5,088 | 16.1% | 15.4% | 16.1% | 16.1% | 26,526 |
Observed matches in Table A2, not a physical completion census. Unusable reporters excluded. Permit year is the earliest building-permit date on the (jurisdiction, identifier) pair. Unit counts are a project-level series and will not match the event-year statewide table row-for-row.
Rates are observed matches in Table A2, not a physical completion census. Unmatched units include projects still under construction, abandoned projects, and completed units whose certificate was not reported or whose identifier changed.
Four jurisdictions whose completion fields cannot be read as production
A city that reports hundreds of ADU permits and no certificates can mean two things: nothing got built, or the certificate column was not used. Treating those as the same thing would produce a “zero-completion” ranking that is actually a ranking of APR hygiene.
Huntington Beach (Orange County, U1) reported 495 ADU permits across 7 years and 0 ADU completions; Completion fields for ADUs are unused across multiple reporting years.
The jurisdiction also reported zero certificates of occupancy for every other housing type in Table A2. 42.3% of its ADU rows have an empty tracking ID. Saratoga (Santa Clara County, U2) reported 467 permits across 8 years and 4 completions in a single year (0.9%).
Completions are so sparse relative to a large, multi-year permit series that treating the ratio as production would present non-reporting as non-building.
West Sacramento (Yolo, U1) and Arvin (Kern, U1) reported 65 and 42 ADU permits respectively, each with 0 ADU completions, while filing 116 and 228 certificates of other housing types — so the gap is ADU-specific, not a blank CO column.
Together the four account for 1,069 of 178,495 statewide permit units and 4 of 102,356 completions. The statewide ratio moves from 57.3% to 57.7% when they are set aside.
The point of naming them is not that arithmetic. It is so that no sentence on this page can be quoted as “Huntington Beach completed zero ADUs.”
Unusable reporters, named
| Jurisdiction | County | ADU permits 2018–2025 | ADU completions 2018–2025 | Permit years | Completion years | Rule | Other-type completions (raw) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Huntington Beach | Orange | 495 | 0 | 7 | 0 | U1 | 0 |
| Saratoga | Santa Clara | 467 | 4 | 8 | 1 | U2 | 1 |
| West Sacramento | Yolo | 65 | 0 | 6 | 0 | U1 | 116 |
| Arvin | Kern | 42 | 0 | 4 | 0 | U1 | 228 |
These four are excluded from any ratio that would treat a blank ADU certificate field as a completed-unit count of zero. They remain in the all-jurisdiction permit total so the exclusion is visible.
West Sacramento and Arvin did report certificates for other housing types. Huntington Beach reported none for any type. Saratoga’s four ADU completions sit in a single year against an eight-year permit series.
Zero ADU completions, below the unusable threshold
Fifteen further jurisdictions reported some ADU permits and no ADU completions, but did not meet U1 or U2. They stay in the usable set. Small counts are not evidence of a unused certificate column, and they are not a ranking of places that “built nothing.”
| Jurisdiction | County | ADU permits 2018–2025 | ADU completions 2018–2025 | Permit years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lathrop | San Joaquin | 39 | 0 | 7 |
| Holtville | Imperial | 15 | 0 | 5 |
| Shasta Lake | Shasta | 13 | 0 | 6 |
| Kingsburg | Fresno | 9 | 0 | 5 |
| Orange Cove | Fresno | 5 | 0 | 3 |
| Farmersville | Tulare | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Avenal | Kings | 4 | 0 | 2 |
| Patterson | Stanislaus | 4 | 0 | 1 |
| Rio Dell | Humboldt | 3 | 0 | 2 |
| Unincorporated Modoc County | Modoc | 2 | 0 | 1 |
| Etna | Siskiyou | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Irwindale | Los Angeles | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Weed | Siskiyou | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Angels Camp | Calaveras | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Gridley | Butte | 1 | 0 | 1 |
Largest below-threshold case: Lathrop, 39 permits across 7 years. U1 starts at 40 permits across 3 years. A one-permit town with a blank certificate cell is not an unusable reporter.
Leaving these in the usable set means they pull a handful of permits and zero completions into the statewide usable ratio. That is the conservative choice: we exclude only where the reporting pattern itself is unusable at scale.
Twenty large jurisdictions, sorted by permit volume — not by ratio
The table below is the twenty usable jurisdictions with the most ADU permits in 2018–2025. It is sorted by permits because volume is what the file measures cleanly. The ratio column is published so a reader can see the range.
It is not a score, and it is not quality. A high ratio can mean fast construction, aggressive certificate reporting, a draining pipeline, or some of each.
A low ratio can mean slow construction, a certificate column that started late, a 2025 filing that is still thin, or identifier practice that breaks the join.
This desk will not sort California cities by that mixture and call it a league table.
Los Angeles alone accounts for 49,556 of 178,495 statewide permit units (27.8%) and 29,529 of 102,356 completions (28.8%), with certificates in all eight years. The statewide series is, to a first approximation, Los Angeles plus a long tail. The twenty rows together are 95,839 permits (54.0% of the usable statewide total).
San Diego’s cumulative ratio is 29.1% on 9,153 permits and 2,667 completions, with certificates in five of eight permit years.
Unincorporated Santa Barbara County sits in a similar band (26.8%) with certificates in all eight years.
Those are not the same reporting pattern, and they are not a reason to tell a homeowner in either place that the city “doesn’t finish ADUs.” Long Beach’s 78.6% on eight years of both columns is the other end of the same warning: a high ratio is not a recommendation.
Largest usable ADU permit volumes, 2018–2025
| Jurisdiction | County | Permit units | Completion units | Cumulative ratio | Permit years | Completion years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles | Los Angeles | 49,556 | 29,529 | 59.6% | 8 | 8 |
| San Diego | San Diego | 9,153 | 2,667 | 29.1% | 8 | 5 |
| Unincorporated Los Angeles County | Los Angeles | 5,657 | 2,903 | 51.3% | 8 | 8 |
| Long Beach | Los Angeles | 3,493 | 2,745 | 78.6% | 8 | 8 |
| San José | Santa Clara | 3,337 | 2,104 | 63.1% | 8 | 8 |
| Santa Maria | Santa Barbara | 2,554 | 1,677 | 65.7% | 8 | 8 |
| Garden Grove | Orange | 2,477 | 1,525 | 61.6% | 8 | 7 |
| San Francisco | San Francisco | 2,353 | 1,673 | 71.1% | 8 | 8 |
| Unincorporated San Diego County | San Diego | 2,274 | 1,502 | 66.1% | 8 | 6 |
| Oakland | Alameda | 1,891 | 1,221 | 64.6% | 8 | 7 |
| Glendale | Los Angeles | 1,777 | 1,309 | 73.7% | 8 | 8 |
| Burbank | Los Angeles | 1,762 | 943 | 53.5% | 8 | 8 |
| Sacramento | Sacramento | 1,631 | 1,032 | 63.3% | 8 | 8 |
| Anaheim | Orange | 1,292 | 802 | 62.1% | 8 | 8 |
| Riverside | Riverside | 1,185 | 737 | 62.2% | 8 | 7 |
| Unincorporated Santa Barbara County | Santa Barbara | 1,144 | 307 | 26.8% | 8 | 8 |
| Santa Ana | Orange | 1,120 | 704 | 62.9% | 8 | 8 |
| Chula Vista | San Diego | 1,109 | 551 | 49.7% | 8 | 7 |
| Westminster | Orange | 1,037 | 767 | 74.0% | 8 | 8 |
| Pasadena | Los Angeles | 1,037 | 418 | 40.3% | 8 | 8 |
Usable reporters only. Sorted by permit units, not by ratio. 95,839 permits in these twenty rows. A completion-years count below 8 is a reporting-span fact, not a construction-quality fact.
Pasadena and Westminster both show 1,037 permits; they are adjacent in volume and not in ratio (40.3% and 74.0%). The file does not say why, and this page does not invent a why.
Ten places, year by year: where the calendar-year ratio breaks
The focus set is Los Angeles, San Diego, San José, San Francisco, Sacramento, Oakland, Long Beach, Fresno, unincorporated Los Angeles County and unincorporated San Diego County — the large markets a homeowner actually asks about, plus Fresno as a Central Valley check. Each cell is permit units / completion units in that calendar year.
Los Angeles issued 7,039 ADU permits in 2018 and recorded 1,424 completions that year; by 2025 those figures are 7,439 and 5,888. The city’s cumulative ratio (59.6%) sits next to the statewide 57.3% because Los Angeles is a large fraction of the statewide file, not because every city looks like Los Angeles.
San Diego recorded 0 ADU completions in 2018, 0 in 2019 and 0 in 2020, against 216, 611 and 491 permits. Completions then appear: 327 in 2021 through 851 in 2024, before 2025 falls to 229 completions against 2,165 permits.
Five completion years out of eight permit years is in the top-20 table. The year-by-year row is what that looks like. It is a reporting-and-lag pattern. It is not a finding that San Diego failed to build 6,486 ADUs.
Certificates can exceed same-year permits, which is what a lag plus a draining pipeline produces. Long Beach in 2025: 644 permits, 649 completions.
San Francisco in 2024: 230 / 249; in 2025: 171 / 218. Oakland in 2020, 2023 and 2024 likewise. A same-year ratio over 100 percent is not over-production. It is the earlier bulge arriving.
Fresno is in the focus set with 280 permits and 78 completions (27.9%). That is a small series. A ratio on 280 units does not carry the same weight as a ratio on 49,556, and we will not write the sentence that pretends it does.
Oakland’s 2018 cell (252 permits, 0 completions) is the same class of warning at the start of a series: a zero in year one is how a certificate column begins, not how a city is graded.
Focus jurisdictions, permits / completions by year
| Jurisdiction | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | 2018–2025 | Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Los Angeles | 7,039 / 1,424 | 4,856 / 2,591 | 3,514 / 3,026 | 5,196 / 2,974 | 7,390 / 3,743 | 6,860 / 4,759 | 7,262 / 5,124 | 7,439 / 5,888 | 49,556 / 29,529 | 59.6% |
| San Diego | 216 / 0 | 611 / 0 | 491 / 0 | 870 / 327 | 610 / 481 | 1,908 / 779 | 2,282 / 851 | 2,165 / 229 | 9,153 / 2,667 | 29.1% |
| San José | 192 / 69 | 416 / 136 | 331 / 237 | 420 / 291 | 448 / 312 | 470 / 334 | 558 / 365 | 502 / 360 | 3,337 / 2,104 | 63.1% |
| San Francisco | 272 / 99 | 483 / 176 | 247 / 159 | 320 / 250 | 342 / 254 | 288 / 268 | 230 / 249 | 171 / 218 | 2,353 / 1,673 | 71.1% |
| Sacramento | 41 / 23 | 57 / 39 | 76 / 20 | 175 / 84 | 263 / 126 | 294 / 190 | 348 / 288 | 377 / 262 | 1,631 / 1,032 | 63.3% |
| Oakland | 252 / 0 | 280 / 114 | 174 / 194 | 274 / 92 | 287 / 143 | 219 / 242 | 213 / 253 | 192 / 183 | 1,891 / 1,221 | 64.6% |
| Long Beach | 59 / 9 | 151 / 104 | 268 / 136 | 444 / 212 | 509 / 638 | 671 / 499 | 747 / 498 | 644 / 649 | 3,493 / 2,745 | 78.6% |
| Fresno | 2 / 3 | 4 / 0 | 6 / 0 | 19 / 7 | 24 / 1 | 37 / 10 | 87 / 16 | 101 / 41 | 280 / 78 | 27.9% |
| Unincorporated Los Angeles County | 128 / 17 | 594 / 77 | 396 / 221 | 570 / 219 | 668 / 327 | 1,041 / 520 | 1,005 / 743 | 1,255 / 779 | 5,657 / 2,903 | 51.3% |
| Unincorporated San Diego County | 79 / 31 | 137 / 0 | 142 / 0 | 299 / 169 | 338 / 231 | 414 / 317 | 476 / 357 | 389 / 397 | 2,274 / 1,502 | 66.1% |
Each cell is event-year permit units / completion units. Completions in a year are not the completions of that year’s permits. Zeros in early San Diego, Oakland and unincorporated San Diego County cells are in the file; they are not HyreADU estimates.
Fresno’s series is included as a small-n check, not as a peer of Los Angeles. Unincorporated rows are county unincorporated areas, not the named cities.
What Terner already measured, and what this page adds
The Terner Center for Housing Innovation at UC Berkeley owns much of the homeowner-facing ADU evidence in California — cost, finance, occupancy, and the early production counts. This page does not restate that work as ours.
It complements it on the cut Terner flagged and did not, in the 2020 paper, follow all the way through a later extract: permits versus certificates, on a de-duplicated event-year basis, with unusable reporters named.
Reaching California’s ADU Potential (August 2020) reported 5,911 ADU permits and 1,984 completions in 2018, and 15,571 permits and 6,668 completions in 2019. Terner reported contemporaneous APR snapshots.
Later APRs backfill earlier permit dates, so our 2018 event-year permit count is higher than Terner’s 5,911. The directional finding — completions lag permits — is the same.
Our 2018 event-year count is 12,050 permits and 3,186 completions; our 2019 event-year count is 12,992 and 5,957. Terner’s 2019 permit figure sits next to our naive APR-year 2019 total of 15,064, not next to the de-duplicated event-year total. Different vintage, different grouping, same directional finding: certificates lag permits.
Terner’s 2024 coastal-zone analysis measures a different clock. Average days from planning application to building permit, 2018–2022, inside vs outside the Coastal Zone in Los Angeles, Orange and San Diego Counties.
In Los Angeles County they report 260 days inside the zone and 147 outside; in Orange County, 233 and 101; in San Diego County, no statistically significant difference. Terner measures the application-to-permit clock. This study measures the permit-to-occupancy clock.
They are consecutive segments of the same pipeline, not competing estimates of the same number. The permit-times study is where application-to-permit belongs on this site.
This page does not compete with Terner’s days, and it does not convert our one-year median lag into a day count the file will not support.
HyreADU analysis: the useful division of labor is that Terner measured the homeowner barrier (cost, finance, time-to-permit, who lives in the unit) and we measured the production-accounting barrier (what share of the permit surge shows up as a certificate, how long the joinable projects take, and which cities cannot be read). Collapsing those into one “ADU success rate” would undo both.
Terner 2020 snapshots against this extract’s event-year counts
| Year | Terner permits (2020 paper) | Terner completions (2020 paper) | This study, event-year permits | This study, event-year completions | This study, naive APR-year permits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | 5,911 | 1,984 | 12,050 | 3,186 | 9,000 |
| 2019 | 15,571 | 6,668 | 12,992 | 5,957 | 15,064 |
Terner’s figures are contemporaneous APR snapshots from the 2020 paper. Ours are an event-year reconstruction of the 5 September 2026 extract. They are not a correction of Terner. Later APRs backfill earlier permit dates; APR-year sums double-count open projects.
Source for Terner columns: https://ternercenter.berkeley.edu/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Reaching_Californias_ADU_Potential_2020.pdf
How a reporter reproduces this from Table A2
Nothing on this page requires a private file. The method is the CSV HCD already publishes, a filter, a de-duplication rule, a date assignment, and four named exclusions.
- 1 Download Table A2
From the data.ca.gov resource tablea2.csv (dataset: Housing Element Annual Progress Report data by jurisdiction and year). This extract: retrieved 2026-09-05; HCD last updated 4 September 2026, 15:44 UTC; 922,102 rows. APR-year row counts in the file run 84,269 (2018) to 134,510 (2025).
- 2 Keep UNIT_CAT = ADU
That filter yields 281,321 rows. Other UNIT_CAT values in the extract: SFD 531,084, SFA 33,227, “2 to 4” 25,631, “5+” 34,700, MH 16,139. There is no JADU value. Table A2 has no separate JADU unit category. Junior accessory dwelling units are in this file only if the jurisdiction coded them as UNIT_CAT=ADU.
- 3 Build an identifier
Use JURS_TRACKING_ID when the cell is non-empty; otherwise concatenate APN and street address. 15,082 ADU rows (5.4%) take the fallback. This is not an HCD unique project ID.
- 4 Count unique permit events and unique completion events
UNIT_CAT = 'ADU'. Permits = NO_BUILDING_PERMITS on a unique (jurisdiction, project identifier, BP_ISSUE_DT1) event, assigned to the calendar year of BP_ISSUE_DT1. Completions = NO_OTHER_FORMS_OF_READINESS on a unique (jurisdiction, project identifier, CO_ISSUE_DT1) event, assigned to the calendar year of CO_ISSUE_DT1.
Identifier is JURS_TRACKING_ID when present, otherwise APN + street address. Restrict to document dates in 2018-2025. The extract also contains 734 pre-2018-dated permit events, 5 pre-2018-dated completions, 50 2026-dated permits and 255 2026-dated completions; they are outside the window and outside the headlines.
- 5 Do not group by APR_YEAR
Summing by filing year produces 213,732 permit units and double-counts 35,237 (16.5%). The event-year permit total is 178,495.
- 6 Flag unusable reporters before any zero-completion claim
U1: ≥40 ADU permits across ≥3 years and zero ADU completions. U2: ≥100 ADU permits across ≥5 years, completions in ≤1 year, cumulative ratio under 5 percent. Apply those rules.
Name Huntington Beach, Saratoga, West Sacramento and Arvin. Exclude them from ratios that would treat blank certificate fields as zeros. Do not rank them as having built nothing.
- 7 Build the cohort on (jurisdiction, identifier), not on events
Permit year = earliest BP date; completion year = earliest certificate date; lag = completion year − permit year among matches. Report the matched lag and the unmatched residual separately. Label unmatched as still-building + abandoned + unreported certificate + identifier change. Do not call the residual unbuilt.
Method, as a checklist
- Units, not rows
A row can carry more than one unit. 169,249 unique permit events produced 178,495 units; 98,500 unique completion events produced 102,356 units.
- BPS is a cross-check, not a validation of the ADU count
BPS has no ADU category. Detached ADUs may be counted as 1-unit new residential construction; garage conversions and many internal ADUs may not be counted as new units at all. This is a cross-check of statewide housing-permit levels, not a validation of the ADU count.
- Terner is cited as Terner
The 2020 snapshots and the 2024 coastal-zone clock are Terner’s. Their counts are not overwritten; their days are not converted into our lag.
- Nothing is typed by hand
Every table cell, headline and chart mark is read from hcd-apr.json at build time. Re-running the reconstruction against a later Table A2 is the only way to change a number here.
Limitations, in full
- The window ratio still includes permits that have not had time to complete
2024 and 2025 sit inside the cumulative 57.3%. The 2025 cohort’s observed match (16.1%, 0 years of follow-up) is what “too early” looks like.
- Identifier matching will both over-match and under-match
A reused tracking ID can join two projects; a changed address string can split one. We cannot measure either error rate from the file. The 52 negative-lag matches are the visible sliver of dating problems.
- A completed unit is a reported ready unit, not a household
HCD’s completion column is “other forms of readiness,” which includes certificates of occupancy and other local sign-offs. Occupancy is not in this file.
- SB 9 units and unpermitted units are out of scope
No JADU category, as above. SB 9 two-unit projects are not ADUs unless a clerk coded them that way, which we cannot detect. Unpermitted ADUs do not appear.
- It is not a recommendation, and it is not a city ranking
A high ratio is not a reason to hire a builder in that city. A low ratio is not a reason to avoid one. HyreADU does not design, permit or build ADUs.
Questions
How many ADUs has California permitted, and how many have been completed?
Why isn’t 57.3% a project completion rate?
How long does an ADU take from permit to occupancy?
Did the Terner Center already publish this?
Why exclude Huntington Beach, Saratoga, West Sacramento and Arvin?
Are junior ADUs included?
Is the 2025 row complete?
Which California city is best at completing ADUs?
How much of California’s permitted housing is ADUs now?
How do I reproduce the numbers?
Written and audited by
HyreADU Research Desk
Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking
We are a research desk, not a builder. We read the permit extract, the statute, the HCD return or the fee schedule ourselves, and publish each figure with its source and retrieval date.
Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we leave it out and say what we could not verify. Our store-based claims cover California only.
- CA
- the only state this desk will make store-based claims about
- 5
- jurisdictions with extracted ADU permit evidence
- 735
- CSLB-verified companies in the California store
- 0
- national claims from a one-state store
How this desk works
- Primary sources only. Permit counts come from the city or county that issued the permit. Production counts come from HCD’s Annual Progress Report. Rents come from HUD or the Census. We do not cite an article that cites a source; we download the source and compute the figure ourselves.
- This is a California site. The company store is 734 California firms and one New Mexico firm. Permit evidence exists for five named jurisdictions: Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, San José and unincorporated Marin. A number from that store is titled to those places, never to the United States.
- A permit is not a completion, and a license is not an ADU grade. California licenses no ADU classification. Being named on an ADU permit is evidence of engagement in that jurisdiction, not of quality, completion, or work anywhere else. Owner-builder permits are excluded from contractor counts.
- Calculation is labeled as calculation. Figures we derive are never presented as something HCD, HUD, the Census or a city published. Terner Center research is cited as Terner’s, never restated as ours.
- We do not design, permit or build ADUs, and we take no payment for placement, ranking or a favorable mention. Pages that look like rankings are not: they publish public-record counts and let the reader decide.
- Nothing here is legal, tax or financial advice. Zoning, underwriting and appraisal practice vary by jurisdiction, lender and appraiser. The useful next step on a specific lot is the planning counter and a licensed professional.
Data as of HCD Table A2 retrieved 2026-09-05; 922,102 rows, 281,321 with UNIT_CAT=ADU; HCD last updated 4 September 2026 (15:44 UTC). Authorship on this site is organizational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold.
Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.
The data behind this page
Every figure on this page is computed from one file, and that file is published here so the analysis can be checked, disagreed with, or reused.
Sources & retrieval dates
- California Department of Housing and Community Development, Housing Element Annual Progress Report, Table A2 , 922,102 rows, 281,321 with UNIT_CAT=ADU. HCD last updated 4 September 2026, 15:44 UTC. Production series is unique (jurisdiction, identifier, document date) events assigned to the calendar year of BP_ISSUE_DT1 or CO_ISSUE_DT1. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Table A2 CSV resource on data.ca.gov , Direct download used for this extract. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- HCD Housing Element Annual Progress Report data dashboard , HCD’s public presentation of the APR. This study reconstructs Table A2 rather than scraping the dashboard. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- HCD Annual Progress Report program page , Filing rules, due date (1 April for the prior calendar year) and completeness guidance. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- HCD Housing Element Annual Progress Report FAQ , Prior-year data not complete until 30 June. 2025 APRs were due 1 April 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, annual history by state , U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, Annual History by State and Territory, annual 2025 release (14 May 2026). California column, units (not buildings). Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- David Garcia et al., Reaching California’s ADU Potential: Progress to Date and the Need for ADU Finance (Terner Center / Center for Community Innovation, August 2020) , Contemporaneous APR snapshots: 5,911 permits / 1,984 completions (2018); 15,571 / 6,668 (2019). Cited as Terner’s. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
- Terner Center, ADUs in the Coastal Zone (2024) , Average days from planning application to building permit, 2018–2022, inside vs outside the Coastal Zone in Los Angeles, Orange and San Diego Counties. Los Angeles County 260 vs 147 days; Orange County 233 vs 101; San Diego County: no statistically significant difference. Application-to-permit, not permit-to-occupancy. Retrieved 2026-09-05.
A statewide lag is not a schedule for your lot
Among projects this file can join, the typical permit-to-certificate lag is one calendar year — and unmatched projects are not in that typical. If you want a working sequence for a specific property, use the timeline planner. It will not pretend HCD’s ratio is your completion date.
HyreADU does not design, permit or build accessory dwelling units. This page is a reconstruction of a public HCD reporting file, not a census of what stands, and not a ranking of cities or builders. A calendar-year permit-to-completion ratio is not a project completion rate.
Unmatched cohort units include projects still under construction, abandoned projects, completed units whose certificate was not reported, and projects whose identifier changed. Huntington Beach, Saratoga, West Sacramento and Arvin are unusable reporters and are never counted here as zero production. Table A2 has no JADU category.
The 2025 APR was retrieved on 5 September 2026, after HCD’s 30 June completeness date, and remains labeled 2025. Nothing on this page is legal, planning or construction advice.